This ruling removes a material source of 340B discount leakage for Genentech and other manufacturers. The decision is immediately enforceable and unlikely to be stayed pending appeal given the clear statutory interpretation. Monitor for any notice of appeal from the government or Sagebrush, and for potential expansion of this reasoning to challenge other 340B certification practices.
Price Chart
Executive Summary
Genentech (RHHBY) won summary judgment in D.D.C. invalidating HRSA's certification of 11 clinics as 340B covered entities. The court found the clinics received qualifying funding through private intermediary Sagebrush Health Services, not directly from a state or local government as required by statute. This ruling removes a key source of 340B discount leakage for Genentech and other drug manufacturers, potentially recovering over $30 million in discounts provided between 2022-2025 across the plaintiff group, though Genentech's specific share is not stated in the opinion.
Court Ruling Details
Key Facts
- Genentech and three other manufacturers (Amgen, Eli Lilly, UCB) won summary judgment invalidating HRSA's certification of 11 clinics as 340B covered entities.
- The court held that the clinics received qualifying funding through Sagebrush Health Services, a private intermediary, not directly from a state or local government as required by 42 U.S.C. § 256b(a)(4)(K).
- The eleven clinics received over $30 million in 340B discounts between 2022 and 2025.
- The court ordered that present and prior certifications be set aside and that the government not recertify any of the clinics based on funds received through Sagebrush or another private entity.
- The ruling was issued by Chief Judge James E. Boasberg in the District of Columbia on August 14, 2026.
Financial Impact
The opinion states the eleven clinics received over $30 million in 340B discounts between 2022 and 2025 across the plaintiff group. Genentech's specific share is not stated, but the ruling eliminates ongoing discount leakage from these clinics.
Risk Factors
- Government or Sagebrush may appeal the ruling to the D.C. Circuit, though the statutory interpretation is straightforward and the government conceded the relevant legal principle.
- The ruling is limited to the 11 specific clinics and does not address broader 340B certification practices, though it sets favorable precedent for similar challenges.
Market Snapshot
Documents Analyzed
This report is based on 1 court opinion.
| Document | Accession Number |
|---|---|
| COURT-RULING Data (Synthetic) | court-ed83475d87-RHHBY |
Track record builds as more directional reports settle.
Filters
| Type | Now | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Oct 23, 2026 5d ago | Court Ruling | $59.98 | awaiting T+5 | — | $60.31 (+0.55%) |
Oct 13, 2026 15d ago | Court Ruling | $55.69 $59.11 | ▲ +6.14% | ▲ +5.69% | $60.31 (+8.30%) |
Aug 14, 2026 10w ago | Court Ruling | $54.61 $57.47 | ▲ +5.24% | ▲ +6.43% | $60.31 (+10.44%) |
Jul 30, 2026 12w ago | Court Ruling | $54.67 $57.26 | ▲ +4.74% | ▲ +1.23% | $60.31 (+10.32%) |
US Market Status
Subscribe to SecBot
Get Real-Time Court Ruling Intelligence
Market-moving court rulings analyzed within minutes. Patent verdicts, antitrust decisions, class certifications, and more — parsed and scored by AI.
Create a free account Live analysis, Telegram alerts, watchlists and the MCP server for subscribers